TALE OF THE CENTURY

Standard

2013-14 squad

fa cup 

 

 

 

 

15 Players, 1 Question!


During their successful 2013/14 FA Cup winning season (their first trophy in nine years), the Arsenal Official Match-day programme ran a feature (TALE OF THE CENTURY) which invited players to randomly select 20 numbers from a pool of 100 questions sent in by readers. To my delight, my question struck gold no less than 15 times! Below are the responses from 15 First Team Arsenal Players to the following question:


WHAT WAS YOUR BEST SUBJECT AT SCHOOL AND WHY?


TOMAS ROSICKY

I always liked German. I can’t say I particularly enjoyed it, but I wanted to do it because, as I said, (in response to an earlier question) my hero was Lothar Matthaus, (former Germany Midfielder) so I wanted to be like him and speak German! It (German) came in useful later when I played there. (Arsenal V Fenerbache, August 27, 2013, p.81)


CHUBA AKPOM

It was P.E. because of the football! (Arsenal V Napoli, October 1, 2013, p.63)


MESUT OZIL

It was PE because I’m a really sporty person and I was able to play football too. (Arsenal V Borussia Dortmund, October 22, 2013, p.22)


ALEX OXLADE-CHAMBERLAIN

PE, because I got to play football. (Arsenal V Liverpool, November 2, 2013, p.80)


SERGE GNABRY

English – I was always good at languages. (Arsenal V Marseille, November 26, 2013, p.23)


OLIVIER GIROUD

History, because its my passion and I was really interested in it, especially the Cold War and Second World War. (Arsenal V Hull City, December 4, 2013, p.22)


LAURENT KOSCIELNY

I liked mathematics the most, so I know the square roots! (Arsenal V Chelsea, December 23, 2013, p.22)


IGNASI MIQUEL

Geography, I enjoyed everything about history and geography. (Arsenal V Cardiff City, January 1, 2014, p.23)


PER MERTESACKER

Sports, absolutely. Anything with a ball involved – football, handball, volleyball, basketball. They were always a pleasure for me. I loved it. (Arsenal V Fulham, January 18, 2014, p.22)


MATHIEU FLAMINI

I really liked economics because it was very useful in everyday life. (Arsenal V Manchester United, February 12, 2014, p.23)


NICKLAS BENDTNER

Sports, for obvious reasons. I did almost every sport when I was younger – tennis, badminton, swimming, table tennis, basketball – I played in the school team in all of them too. (Arsenal V Liverpool, February 16, 2014, p.43)


LUKAS PODOLSKI

I liked maths. (Arsenal V Everton, March 8, 2014, p.24)


BACARY SAGNA

I loved geography at school because I liked to learn about the world. I find it interesting to know about what’s happening around us. Then you can find Dubai on the map! (Arsenal V Swansea City, March 25, 2014, p.22)


SANTI CAZORLA

Physical education. (Arsenal V Manchester City, March 29, 2014, p.25)


THEO WALCOTT

That would be maths. I used to sit together with my mates and we used to mess around a bit but we also worked really well together. (Arsenal V West Bromwich Albion, May 4, 2014, p.36)


Subsequent to these responses to my question, the Official Arsenal FC Match-day programme have, during the 2014/15 season, run a regular new feature (School Days) where members of the current Arsenal squad cast their minds back to their experiences in the classroom.


I couldn’t finish this post without one final response (to a completely different question of mine) from an Arsenal Legend! Published in the October 2013 Issue of the Official Arsenal FC Magazine, French Midfield Maestro, Robert Pires, replies to my following question:


What impact will the return of French defensive midfielder, Mathieu Flamini, have in the current Arsenal squad?


ROBERT PIRES

I think Mathieu will have a great impact on this team. He is the player Arsenal needed. He will always work hard for the group. You won’t see him much but he will be so important. He will protect the back four and has a great team spirit and fighting spirit. He will play a very important role as we saw against Tottenham last month where he came on and did very well.


© Copyright 2014, Darell J Philip

Leave a Reply

